EC: Pakatan Harapan has won the most seats in GE15

PUTRAJAYA: With 82 seats, Pakatan Harapan and its allies have won the most number of seats in the 15th General Election (GE15), but are still short of the 112 magic number needed to form the simple majority in Parliament.

Pakatan won 76 seats while its component party DAP, which is contesting under its own logo in Sarawak, won another five seats.

Muda which is also aligned with Pakatan, won one seat, bringing Pakatan’s tally to 82.

Perikatan Nasional was close behind after winning a total of 73 seats, including 22 seats contested under the PAS logo.

Barisan Nasional trailed behind its rivals with only 30 seats.

Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) snapped up 22 seats, Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) had six seats while Warisan won three.

Parti Bangsa Malaysia (PBM) won a single seat while two Independent candidates also won.

This is according to the Election Commission (EC) website as of 4.25am on Sunday (Nov 20) after a total of 219 parliamentary seats were tallied.

There were 220 parliamentary seats contested on Saturday (Nov 19), with polling suspended for two seats.

The results for the Kota Marudu seat has yet to be officially announced as ballot boxes from a remote river will only be reaching the counting centre late.

Meanwhile, polling for another two seats, Padang Serai in Kedah and Baram in Sarawak, have been postponed and will be held later.

Polling for the Padang Serai will be held on Dec 7 as Pakatan candidate M. Karupaiya passed away on Wednesday (Nov 16).

Polling for the Baram seat in Sarawak was suspended due to floods on Saturday (Nov 19), which prevented EC personnel from reaching 11 polling stations.

The election also saw seats in the Perlis, Perak and Pahang state assemblies up for grabs as well as the lone Bugaya state seat in Sabah.

Earlier, EC chairman Tan Sri Abdul Ghani Salleh had declared that Perikatan would form the Perlis state government after winning 14 out of 15 seats.

Results for Perak and Pahang are still pending.

Bugaya has been won by Warisan.